Visualizing HR Data Part 1: Testing Trend Compass

I just downloaded a trial of Trend Compass, which has created similar bubble charting software that Hans Rosling used on TED.com and similar to a Google gadget mentioned in this blog a couple of weeks ago. This is only test data! But I wanted to try it out. I’ve loaded a sample data set in here to see how we could tell the story of the recession by source of applicant and hires.  (If you happen to work for any of the companies in the bubble, again, not trying to assess anything about you, you’re a sample data point). If this becomes interesting enough, we’ll try this with some real data.

 

I don’t know how much the SW is yet, I’ve emailed them (that can’t be a good sign). However, the Google widget should work as well, maybe better, it just has less documentation.

Update: They emailed me back, $10,000 for the application I’m testing or $50 a pop on their site directly. The only advantage I see so far to it is that you can record a wav on top… but you can do that with any desktop tool, so it’s not hitting a homerun for me yet.

Jeremy Shapiro is an executive in HR at a leading financial services firm, working on talent analytics. Formerly a Senior Vice President of the Hodes iQ Talent Management Suite at Bernard Hodes Group and is a co-author of the HR metrics book Ultimate Performance. Jeremy has coached hundreds of companies in recruiting and HR technology solutions across industries and sizes. Jeremy is a frequent speaker and author on HR technology topics and HR Business Intelligence topics, such as SHRM, IHRIM, the Human Capital Institute, HR.com and more. He is a frequent contributor to articles and whitepapers on HR Business Intelligence. Jeremy holds a Masters of Science in Information Systems from NYU and a B.A in Economics from Rutgers University. Specific topics of research include HR metrics, talent management technology, and next generation recruiting technologies.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in hr metrics, Uncategorized
3 comments on “Visualizing HR Data Part 1: Testing Trend Compass
  1. Jackie says:

    Thanks for the information on Trend Compass. They just posted a comment on my blog and you’ve helped save me time on checking this resource out….I’m excited about Hans Roslings’ Gapminder. He shares his animated bubble chart freely (as compared to Trend Compass’ fees) and has hundreds of indicators available….now, I’ll check out the google widget you mentioned!

    • measuringtalent says:

      My pleasure. The Google bubble chart actually is Hans’ tool. Google bought it and his daughter works for Google now. I didn’t think that Gapminder themselves distributed the software, do they? I thought Google purchased the code rights…

  2. Jackie says:

    I didn’t know Google bought the rights; but, I just recently found these resources through Presentation Zen – hence, you are WAY ahead of me on this! Just glad I have access to the tools.

Leave a Reply

50% of Jeremy

Talent metrics and human capital analytics galore.                                                                        

Upcoming Presentations
Cornell ILR, Metrics that Matter: How HR Analytics Impact the Bottom Line, June 3-4, 2014 or November 13-14, New York, NY

HBR Webinar (Recording) - Competing on Talent Analytics November, 2011

Groups I’m Involved With
